Dominion Bureau of Statistics.—The Dominion Bureau of Statistics was set up by statute in 1918 as a central statistical department for Canada (8-9 Geo. V, c. 43). In 1948 this statute, which had been consolidated as the Statistics Act (R.S.C. 1927, c. 190), was repealed and replaced by the Statistics Act (R.S.C. 1952, c. 257); it was amended by 1-2 Eliz. II, c. 18, assented to Mar. 31, 1953.

The function of the Dominion Bureau of Statistics is to compile, analyse and publish statistical information relative to the commercial, industrial, financial, social and general condition of the people and to conduct a census of population and agriculture of Canada as required under the Act.

The Bureau is the principal publication agency of the Federal Government; the subjects of the reports cover all aspects of the national economy. The administrative head of the Bureau is the Dominion Statistician who reports to Parliament through the Minister of Trade and Commerce.

Department of External Affairs.—This Department was established in 1909 by "An Act to create a Department of External Affairs" (R.S.C. 1952, c. 68). Its main function is the protection and advancement of Canadian interests abroad. The head of the Department of External Affairs is the Secretary of State for External Affairs. The senior permanent officer of the Department is the Under-Secretary (Deputy Minister) who is the chief adviser to the Secretary of State for External Affairs. He is assisted by a Deputy Under-Secretary and by four Assistant Under-Secretaries, one of whom is Legal Adviser, and is advised by officers in charge of the various divisions, each responsible for a part of the work of the Department. The divisional heads are assisted by Foreign Service Officers, Administrative Officers and by an administrative staff. Officers serving abroad are formally designated as Ambassadors, Ministers, Counsellors, First, Second, Third Secretaries and Attachés at diplomatic posts and as Consuls General, Consuls and Vice-Consuls at consular posts. Sixty-four diplomatic and consular posts are maintained abroad.

The work of the Department at Ottawa is performed by 19 divisions, which can be grouped according to their functions into three categories—political, functional and administrative. There are five political divisions—American, Commonwealth, European, Middle Eastern and Far Eastern; ten functional divisions—Communications, Consular, Defence Liaison (1) and (2), Economic, Information, Legal, Historial Research and Reports, Protocol and United Nations; and four administrative divisions—Establishments and Organization, Finance, Personnel, and Supplies and Properties. There are also three smaller sections—Inspection Service, Political Co-ordination Section and the Press Office.

Department of Finance.—This Department, created on June 22, 1869, by an Act respecting the Department of Finance (32-33 Vict., c. 4), is under the authority of the Minister of Finance. The Department is responsible for the financial administration of Canada including raising the money required for the various governmental activities by way of taxation or borrowing. The Comptroller of the Treasury, an officer of the Department, is responsible for all Government disbursements.

The work of the Department is organized in six principal Divisions: Administration, Financial Administration and Accounting Policy, Superannuation, Treasury Board, Taxation, and International Affairs. The Royal Canadian Mint is a branch of the Department and the Inspector General of Banks is an officer of the Department.

The Tariff Board and the Canadian Farm Loan Board are responsible to Parliament through the Minister of Finance.

Department of Fisheries.—The Department of Fisheries was first organized under a Minister of Fisheries in 1930. Prior to that date the federal fisheries services were maintained by the former Department of Marine and Fisheries, established in 1868. The provinces, under various arrangements, have certain administrative responsibilities in the fisheries but the legislative authority for the regulations of coastal and freshwater fisheries is with the federal Department of Fisheries.

The work of the Department includes: conservation and development of the fisheries through the enforcement of fishing regulations, the operation of fish culture establishments, management and improvement of spawning streams and control of predators; inspection of fish products for quality control and the encouragement of industrial development; promotion of the greatest utilization of fishery products and a proper public understanding of the resource and the industry. The Department administers the Fishermen's Indemnity Plan to assist fishermen in the event of loss or serious damage to their fishing vessels or lobster traps.

Agencies connected with the Department are the Fisheries Prices Support Board and the Fisheries Research Board of Canada. The Department is represented on these International Commissions: Pacific Salmon Fisheries, Pacific Halibut, the Northwest Atlantic Fisheries, North Pacific Fisheries, Whaling, and Great Lakes Fishery, and participates in an international agreement controlling the take of Pribilof seals.

Fisheries Research Board.—The Fisheries Research Board operates under the Fisheries Research Board Act of 1937 (amended in 1947 and 1952-53). It has been active as a fisheries research body since 1898, first as Board of Management of the Canadian Marine Biological Station and later (1912) as the Biological Board of Canada.